DEV Community

Cover image for Ah yes...React and it's Redux minions
Fernando Galvan
Fernando Galvan

Posted on

Ah yes...React and it's Redux minions

Somewhat Familiar

I am nowhere near a pro when it comes to using ReactJS but I can definitely build you a simple project with relative ease. On the other hand, Redux was a library I only read about as if it were some agent lore. Thankfully there was a good amount of information to guide me through it all...

So I Thought

I watched some videos, read some post and answers from StackOverflow. I felt in good hands, with good knowledge. The more I followed a long with a tutorial (while I adjusted a few things to better suit my liking), the more I understood that Redux isn't so complex. I then had to createStore. Unfortuantely, we don't createStore anymore around these parts, we configureStore from reduxtoolkit. Now, I had no issue adjusting for updated methods, but up until that point, I was using previous versions to build. I think I can safely assume that many of us newcomers have been down this road before. You find the perfect mix of guides to help you build an app you want to stand out from the rest. This was nothing new, but I was already hours in to my CSS styling, and hours in to my component structuring. This was not good news.

So I thought...again

After feeling defeated, and after a few glasses of scotch, I decided that I could not adjust my current build. I would have to start a new build, but I promised myself I would only look at the positive. The positive was that my back-end was built and deployed on Heroku (IYKYK). At this point, it's all about the front-end and adjusting for new methods. I knew I could do this, even with this being my first go-around with Redux.

Toolkits are easy to find after all

Throughout YouTube and Google searches, there is quite a lot of information on the Toolkit that is now used with Redux. I found it all quite useful, especially after struggling with certain concepts my first go around with the previous version. I still couldn't understand a few points some videos were making. This is where a wild idea came to me: Visit the resource pages on Redux's official site. As they say, some common sense isn’t so common. In my defense, my brain was mush after my first failed attempt. One piece of advice after this endeavor, go to the source files/resources first. As great as Google is...documentation is there for a reason.

Finally!

Through a week of struggles, I completed my store (which I'll link below). Although not perfect, I am proud of my work. I am proud that I truly understand 80% of my code, while somewhat understanding 20% of it. My education does not stop here, but it certainly is a nice point to look back and smile. It's about the small wins after all. It's about the small steps forward. It's about the building of knowledge after the stumbles along the way.

Site: https://legendary-palmier-cc51ed.netlify.app/

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
markerikson profile image
Mark Erikson

Glad to hear that our official Redux docs were helpful! :)

(And yes, tbh I do find it surprising that many people don't start by going to official library docs first)