DEV Community

Kenny
Kenny

Posted on

What's Good?

Hi there, I've come to join the DEV community because I want to help people out, share my progress and learn. The DEV community's values align with my own and the platform is only going to grow in popularity, making this a great environment to publish my content.

Overview of my coding journey

I stumbled into the coding world in November 2018, I used to play around with websites on Squarespace. One day, I wanted to make a project that I couldn't with the traditional website builder - I soon found out I would have to code it. A few weeks later I was on Codewars preparing for an entry test to a bootcamp, Northcoders. I started in June and finished in August(2019). I landed a front-end role at a data analytics startup in October. I was leading a small project for O2Wifi. I was let go 3 weeks later because the company lost too many clients. On December 2nd, I started my new role as a consultant for a company called Ricoh. It's been great.

What tech I'm paying attention too:

I'm been working on two apps, one for a client and one internal project. Both are written using Flutter (an open-source UI sdk). I started by learning Dart on Codewars and then picked up a Flutter course I recommend. Next on my list to learn:

  • Angular
  • Docker
  • Kubernetes

Thanks for reading

I plan to post weekly, please feel free to reach out - I would love to chat.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hey Kenny, welcome to the DEV community. I look forward to seeing your post. You will find this a very supportive community.

Collapse
 
niallkenny profile image
Kenny

Thank you!

Collapse
 
koladev profile image
Mangabo Kolawole

I would love to see some article about flutter and kubernetes.
Welcome !!!

Collapse
 
niallkenny profile image
Kenny

Thank you!! I'll look into making one for sure!