DEV Community

NIYODUSENGA Clement
NIYODUSENGA Clement

Posted on

Design thinking and teamwork

This week we were required to think of the project, work on it and deliver the project in only one week. Today, I didn’t forget soft skills instead I would like to take this time and do a retrospective.

Talking about the project, I would like to talk about teamwork and how we started and delivered the project as a team of frontend and backend developers.

Teamwork is the collaborative effort of a group to achieve a common goal or to complete a task in the most effective and efficient way. Working in a team for the first time might be challenging if don’t handled seriously. In this project, I liked the collaboration we had and the way we brainstormed to choose the best project to build.

Even though we were working on the project we kept the flow of having the soft skills session as usual. Monday, we had a very fun, and educational session where we first played the game which helps us to know each other deeper.

Talking about team building I can’t forget the design thinking session, let me talk a little about it.

Design thinking is a human-centered approach to innovation anchored in understanding customer’s needs, rapid prototyping, and generating creative ideas.

Challenges

A ton of work stressed me which led to panic instead of managing and prioritizing tasks and forgot to do deep research about design thinking.

Lesson

The best way to look back is to get feedback. Today’s feedback made me look back and see what could cause the stress and how I could mitigate that. I did find out that we should keep everything in control when we take it simple. Here is the method introduced by US NAVY in 1960 called KISS an abbreviation for ‘Keep It Simple, Stupid!’.

Thank you for reading!

Top comments (0)