DEV Community

Cover image for Being a programmer... is pain
Nočnica Mellifera
Nočnica Mellifera

Posted on

Being a programmer... is pain

I set up my camera and streaming rig yesterday to film some easy Javascript coding. I ended up making incredibly loud static for reasons I couldn't figure out.

The reality is that when you're trying to expand your skills, there will be times when you hit a wall. Trying to do something and being bad at it is painful, and it's human to withdraw from pain.

As a developer you face this pain more often than you would in other jobs, and in the video above I talk about why that is and what to do about it.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

And I thought programming a drum loop with an already built DAW was difficult, haha! I feel your pain and hope you overcome that static issue.

Thanks for sharing this! I'm not a programmer but can totally relate to what you're saying. Loved all the advice — taking a break is a must whenever I get stuck.

Side note: the beat drop at about 5 minutes in was awesome!

Collapse
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

Awww thank you! The beat is from the YouTube library, with some tweaking to make it work a bit better for bg

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

Are you following the BlenderGuru donut tutorial? That's what got me started in Blender. I'm now working through CG Cookie tutorials. It may seem like an information overload at first. :) I made at least 30 mugs to get muscle memory and get used to working with mesh objects after I finished the series.

Collapse
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

Yes! Love my donut 🍩

Collapse
 
insan3 profile image
Oscar Nevárez

Hello! I just asked you about this on your CDK talk but I couldn't find any result. Do you have the name of the drawing? Google Images doesn't throw any result except your blog