DEV Community

Noel Worden
Noel Worden

Posted on

The F*ck - A Great Little Productivity App

Welp, things have been a bit slow on the project. The last few weeks have been a lot of rinse and repeat kind of stuff, but alas, that's how it goes sometimes. All that to say that there wasn't much in the way of This Week I Learned.

However, I do want to share what is probably my favorite productivity-related app: The Fuck. Now is probably a good time to mention that the 'F Bomb' will be dropped a few more times in this post, but it's all in good fun, so I hope it's not too offensive. Now, what is The Fuck, and why do I like it so much? From the docs:

The Fuck is a magnificent app, inspired by a @liamosaur tweet, that corrects errors in previous console commands

So, basically, if you drop a typo in a command, say, like:

git chekout develop

You would get a a nice error message from git, even suggesting the correction. But instead of having to type it out again, you can simply type:

fuck

And you are presented with what The Fuck assumes you meant to type initially:

git checkout develop [enter/↑/↓/ctrl+c]

From there you can either hit enter to use that suggested command, use the up/down arrows to cycle through the options, or ctrl c to abort.

But that is just one of the fairly large list of commands that The Fuck recognizes and can fix, a comprehensive list can be found on the incredibly well documented README.

Because the README is so detailed, I'm not going to retype all the intricacies here. I will say that the install is very simple:

brew install thefuck

And it is highly customizable. There is even an experimental instant mode, if that's your cup of tea.

This little app gets me to chuckle out loud just about every time I use it. It's kind of perfect, since I have been known to swear under my breath when frustrated, now I can take that energy and actually fix the problem! And, if you are someone who isn't a fan of typing out the 'F word' on the regular, you could always utilize this powerful tool from an alias, like, I dunno, duck?

Top comments (0)