DEV Community

Cover image for Recording screen, mic input and audio output with one app
nop33.eth
nop33.eth

Posted on • Originally published at iliascreates.com on

Recording screen, mic input and audio output with one app

I’ve been for years a very happy user of Kap, a free open-source app to record the screen of my MacBook.

Recently I wanted to perform some interviews during a requirements gathering process for a new project at work. I needed a way to record my screen, my voice but also the voice of the interviewee. Essentially I needed to capture:

  • Screen
  • Audio input
  • Audio output

So, as usual, I started with a simple Google search to see what is out there. I found many solutions that required downloading some apps (like Soundflower, LoopBack or ScreenFlow) and use some of them in combination with Quicktime Player, a native macOS app.

5 minutes had passed and I already felt overwhelmed. I thought this was gonna be easier. And then it hit me: “Why haven’t you checked if Kap can do that?”. Dah!

All I literally had to do was to go to the preferences of the app and turn 2 toggles on.

  1. Enable Audio recording from the General tab
  2. Enable the soundflower plugin from the Plugins tab

Finito.

Kap general preferences tab

Kap plugin preferences tab

Top comments (0)