DEV Community

Nuss93
Nuss93

Posted on

Nasreen is still coding in 2022

Happy IWD to all my lady coders!

Programming and coding, the things that used to make me curl up and cry in the study room of my university back in 2016. Now, I can't believe I am coding in 2022.

This year, I wish to dive a lot more into AR, VR and Game Development. I want to be able to create 3D models using software like Blender and use them as assets in the games I develop. I hold on to my 2022 mantra, which is to become a jack of all trades, a master of none. But still better than a master of one.

In 2022, I've achieved so much I've given Game Dev on Unity a try, and I can say that it is quite addicting. The learning process is so much fun!

Besides ReactJS, I've also managed to pick up on React Native and also equipped myself with the MERN stack.

Breaking the bias 👩🏻‍💻

  • Be more confident! There is no room for impostor syndrome here.
  • Speak up! When you have great ideas, if something doesn't feel right to you, speak up.
  • Become an inspiration and role model to all the girls who want to code. I want to come out as a strong person who has got her s*it together, and that other women can do the same if we put our minds to it!

It's not easy being a female coder and trying to set my reputation. I've always have to work twice as hard to gain the respect of people around me, peers or clients.

Now, my team consists of a lot of female coders and I wish to create a safe space for more girls to grow and achieve their dream without the having to go through so much discrimination and bias.

Advocating for myself 💪🏼

  • Not selling myself short. Despite being scared of the tech industry, I will try my best to speak up on things I believe in.
  • Being mindful of my current state and acknowledging that I have been making progress regardless of the self-doubt.

I pledge to support women, non-binary folks, and other minorities in tech by…

Being a model representation that they can do it as much as I could!

Keeping things exciting for me and my team ✨

Trying new things! I can't wait to fully understand the basics of Game Development, AR and VR. Perhaps one day I would be able to create something impactful for the community and prove that women can go into tech!

Top comments (0)