DEV Community

Oisin
Oisin

Posted on

JS devs, what's your take on marketing content?

I work behind the scenes in web development, and I’m trying to figure out: How marketing influences your decisions when picking new platforms or tools.

I've noticed a trend where bold claims often lack substantial backing, which isn't just frustrating, it's counterproductive. Like the marketer who cried wolf. So... I'm gathering insights for a project aimed at conceptualising a more transparent approach in how we as marketers speak about dev tools.

My question is: If you could change how these tools are marketed, what would you prioritise? What kind of promises or cliches make you skeptical, or even outright dismissive?

Your insights are purely for my understanding but my hope is that they will inspire a new, wholly beneficial approach and cause a domino effect across the industry. No hidden agenda, I'm just genuinely passionate about what I do and how that can bring the most value to my audience.

Huge thanks for taking the time to read this and (hopefully) respond. Your perspective is invaluable, and I'm exceptionally grateful for any contributions.

Top comments (0)