DEV Community

Oliver Davies
Oliver Davies

Posted on • Originally published at oliverdavies.uk on

Tests can assert multiple things

Similar to "a method should only have one return statement", I've seen similar advice when working with tests: "Tests should only have a single assertion".

I don't think this is true, and in my experience, you need multiple assertions to have a thorough test.

And, whilst similar assertions add some duplication, they can make the intent clearer and give better error messages.

Instead, I focus on one test case per test.

If I'm testing the following:

  • A blog page exists.
  • Only post nodes are visible.
  • Only published posts are visible,
  • Posts are returned in a specified order.

These will be split into separate tests - making it easier to read and maintain the code and have faster execution times by running only the tests I want with the minimum amount of code in each - regardless of how many assertions are in each.

P.S. Are you still using Drupal 7 and don’t know what’s involved to upgrade to Drupal 10? Book a Drupal 7 upgrade consultation call or an upgrade roadmap.

Top comments (0)