DEV Community

Pavel Belokon
Pavel Belokon

Posted on

My second pr of release 0.2

This pull request (PR) was of significant interest to me because it allowed me to engage in refactoring and error handling, which are areas I believe I can learn a lot from. This includes addressing redundancy, restructuring the logic and much more, making it a pretty cool experience.

Firstly, I reviewed all existing API calls in the frontend components of the project and identified four of them. Subsequently, I worked through each, wrapping functions with api calls in a try-catch blocks to ensure proper error handling. This approach enabled me to view the code from the perspective of a reviewer, which I consider crucial in any project. As humans, we may sometimes overlook certain aspects of our logic.

Following this, I created a useState for the errors to establish a conditional fallback state and display errors to the user if there were any issues, thus facilitating debugging and providing feedback to the user.

The corresponding issue and PR can be found below:

In wrap up my release 3.0, I would say that I significantly improved at finding repositories to contribute to and assessing my skills to successfully accomplish tasks. However, for release 4.0, I aim to challenge myself even more, allocating time daily to work on it.

I would like to express my thanks to sanders41 and OhmSpectator for being kind and communicative contributors. Contributing to their projects made me feel welcome.

I think by gradually working on open source in this class, I have started overcoming my impostor syndrome, which previously held me back from pursuing many exciting goals. Now, I feel confident in attempting to achieve those goals.

Top comments (0)