DEV Community

Pavel Belokon
Pavel Belokon

Posted on

My first Hacktoberfest

Well, well, well, I finally achieved this milestone! I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of contributing to open source. I'd like to point out that I realized that, instead of contributing to a wide range of projects, I prefer to focus on one project that I genuinely like and want to understand. This approach allows me to tackle more complex issues and become more deeply involved with the project. While it did prevent me from contributing to big projects I like, such as Godot Engine, as they require a deep understanding of the application, I'm not giving up and will try to do it in my spare time.

I also learned that waiting for someone to assign you an issue and not working on it in the meantime is the worst thing you can do. I learned this the hard way when I wanted to work on an issue for my second Hacktoberfest pull request, but it took a week for me to get a reply, and by that time, someone else had already submitted a pull request.

Throughout this experience, I gained a lot of practice with Git, particularly in managing commits and branches. I noticed that many projects automatically update your pull request or branch with the latest changes from the main branch. If you don't pull the latest changes before making new commits, you would either have to redo everything after you pull or cherry-pick your commit.

I must say that open source is fantastic, and I find it to be the best when you discover a project you use and are driven to make it better. It's a rewarding experience. That's what I aspire to do in the future, and who knows, maybe I'll create my own project someday.

Unfortunately, there is one thing I didn't like about the event, and that is people who cheat in it just to obtain some items. Before, it was T-shirts, and now it's stickers. They create meaningless projects or issues where they either copy-paste algorithms or simply add their name to the project. This really disappoints me since it completely ruins the purpose of the event.

Top comments (0)