DEV Community

P-DR0ZD
P-DR0ZD

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktober fest week 2

For my second pull request in hacktoberfest, I contributed to the dzikoysk/reposilite repository. The language I used was Kotlin which I have little to no experience with. However, I have used Java a lot and it is very similar in terms of syntax

What I Did

Issue

The issue wasn't asking for too much it was only asking to add a try-catch statement when a user tries to communicate with a closed channel. I saw someone was attempting it and then dropped it but I figure I would attempt it. I was able to find the code they were referring to then I added the Try catch. After I asked what else needed to be done they replied by telling me to log the error as a debug. I needed to look into the code to figure out what they meant and found the Debug log subclass. I created a message based on the other logs and than created a PR.

Pull request

I asked the maintainers to review my code and see if my message was done correctly. They responded by saying I needed to import the class so I did.

conclusion

This was the first PR I made in a big repo it had more than 100 forks and 700 stars. I also feel more comfortable asking questions.

Top comments (0)