DEV Community

Adem
Adem

Posted on

An undefined function fails

I'm pretty new at React. I proceed by reading the documents, I got stuck at the first stage while dealing with error management. While the code should have made an error, it did not, and I could not make sense.

This line : <input onChange={this.handleInput} value={this.state.inputVal} />

Mentioned 'handle input' or 'inputVal' in stats etc. I did not define anything. Just a basic component and i return it. Shouldn't it normally throw an error like "this.handleInput is not defined"?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sphrases profile image
sphrases

Hey, could you provide some more of your code?

Also if I understand you correctly, you didn't define this.handleInput, but the code works?

(also you might want to ask this question on stackoverflow, there are a lot more people just to help on coding problems :) )