DEV Community

Rakesh Singh
Rakesh Singh

Posted on

Shoud I republish my blogs?

I was thinking of writing blog posts. I want to ask if it is a good idea to republish the same blog post to multiple sites. Any help is appreciated.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
matiasdandrea profile image
Matias D

Sometimes I read articles and at the end they have something like:
"The original post is in wwwmyblogetc.."

If I found the article interesting, usually I click to see al the others... So in my opinion yes, it could be a good idea (but maybe I'm the only one who does that, lol)

Collapse
 
rakeshsingh profile image
Rakesh Singh

Thanks!

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen • Edited

Look to sites that allow for you to specify the canonical URL (like Dev). I post most everything to my personal site and then syndicate out and those syndication sources all specify the canonical URL.

A canonical link element is an HTML element that helps webmasters prevent duplicate content issues in search engine optimization by specifying the "canonical" or "preferred" version of a web page. It is described in RFC 6596, which went live in April 2012.

Collapse
 
rakeshsingh profile image
Rakesh Singh

Thanks!

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

If you are talking about cross posting then yes in my opinion you should. Your audience will grow faster. I mostly post on DEV, Hashnode and Medium.

Collapse
 
rakeshsingh profile image
Rakesh Singh • Edited

Thanks for the reply! So, should I publish on all of them at the same time or within a gap of few days? Also, if I have articles I have published like 1-2 weeks ago is it ok to repost it somewhere now if they are only on one platform?

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Do it at the same time unless you plan on making on of them your main blog. In that case you would give it exclusivity for a few days before posting on the others. Yes just give it a canonical link.

Thread Thread
 
rakeshsingh profile image
Rakesh Singh

I see, thanks a lot!