DEV Community

Cover image for Middi - Digital Ocean Hackathon Submission
Michael Mather
Michael Mather

Posted on • Updated on

Middi - Digital Ocean Hackathon Submission

What I built

Middi is a fun and wholesome habit tracker that makes you feel good for completing habits. The Middi app takes place in a chat-like interface where users get support and encouragement every time they complete a habit. Manage your habits, complete your goals and feel good doing it.

Category Submission:

Program for the People: Build an application related to mental health, a public service (like a COVID-19 spread tracker), or a feel-good app to ring in the New Year right

App Link

Middi App

Screenshots

output

Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 6.53.08 PM
Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 7.06.30 PM
Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 6.51.40 PM
output2

Description

Middi lets you create and track habits with weekly goals. You can then monitor your habit progress and get encouragement (and confetti parties) every time you complete a goal.

Link to Source Code!

Middi Repo

Permissive License

MIT

Background

I've tried to get into habit tracking a couple of times but I always find that the material design "spreadsheet" approach never really appealed to me. I liked the idea of a habit tracker that made you feel good every time you completed a habit. I tried to build Middi to be friendly and supportive so that habit tracking didn't feel like making a grocery list.

How I built it

This project really shows how easy it is to make a full-stack project on Digital Ocean App Platform. I use one app to host both the backend and the frontend, and an App Platform component to create a PostgreSQL database. Linking the two up was as simple as a few clicks with DO doing the heavy lifting, including managing database users.

I use Heroku regularly so It's really great to see competitors in the same space.

I used NodeJS with Express, Passport and Sequelize to handle the authentication and database models. I then used React with TypeScript on the frontend to handle the client side of things.

Additional Resources/Info

Huge thanks to DEV and Digital Ocean for organising this event. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the submissions!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

This looks absolutely amazing! Well done! 🙌

Mine is much simpler, I built a portfolio website with an interactive training section based on Katacoda:

Collapse
 
raucoustortoise profile image
Michael Mather

Looks great! I'm a big fan of Bash scripting so I'll definitely take a look

Collapse
 
spiritupbro profile image
spiritupbro

this is beautiful