DEV Community

Rehannah
Rehannah

Posted on

Building a Chat Sim | Part 1

For my first personal project, I'm attempting to build a mobile chat simulator game.

Keep in mind as I continue to blog my progress - I don't know what I'm doing.

What I'm building?

  • Mobile chat simulator game - basically a modified clone of an existing game. The game would allow the user to play as a character and interact with other characters using predefined chat options. Winning the game is ending based, so players can try to get the best or preferred ending through the choices they make.

Proposed Stack

  • Frontend: React Native
  • Backend: Python, Django

{A/N: This stack was proposed to me by ChatGPT😂 and I don't know any better, but I'm familiar with Python and JS so I figure I can learn how to use this stack}

Initial Models

Image showing the models or classes proposed for the system

These are subject to change as I learn more about how components interact within the system.

Wireframes

Tutorial chat featuring a placeholder character named "Helpi"
Image showing the proposed wireframe for the tutorial chat in the system

Store where players can gain battery which allows them to be able to play the game, and coins which allows them to purchase items that can help them get closer to the ending they desire.
Image showing the proposed wireframe for the store in the system

What's next?

So far, I've worked through the initial planning and determining what I want the most viable product to be, so next I'll be working on learning how to use the tech stack and getting started on development.

What I'm most looking forward to is after I get the code all set up. I think development will be a bit easier from then on.

Feel free to comment on this post any suggestions or thoughts at all.

Top comments (0)