DEV Community

Rhuan Silva
Rhuan Silva

Posted on

How to receive a Salary in Brazil while working for a company abroad

A quick brief

The main goal of this article is to explain how you, as a brazilian, can work properly for a company abroad, what are the things you should be aware and how can you proceed to have everything set up. We're going to dive into this topics:

  • Invoices for the win
  • How to receive payments from companies abroad
  • The different timezones issue
  • Async first! Be prepared to be answered late

Each of the topics above will be covered in a general point of view, I'll give my personal point of view, and experience in each one, and if you still have doubts about any topic you can contact me here on Linkedin or view Telegram.

But first, some considerations:

I won't explain how things work for Individuals (aka PF in Brazil), only for Individuals operating as a Company (aka PJ in Brazil). If you want to keep paying abusive taxes for the government and try to make a Individual contract abroad is up to you, I think it's quite better to work as a Company and declare what you do as a Service, also having less fees and controlling the majority of your own money doing whatever you want with it.


Invoices for the win

You may be asking what is an Invoice. An invoice is a document that you send to the company you work for charging them for your work. I'll show a template here and explain how this invoice is structured.

A simple Invoice template

As you can see this is a very simple document, basically you fill it with your data and the company's data, also put your bank account details which in this case will be the details about your global payment service bank account. Now, if you have any doubt about this document or want a deep explanation please come to me. You should send this document to the financial responsible and ask him/she to check it for you.

How to receive payments from companies abroad

There's a considerable number of ways for us to do that, I'll list some of them and after that I'll explain the way I've adopted for myself.
This is the way a common payment reach out your local bank account:

Brazillian payments flow when working for company abroad

As you can see, the process is simple. The company pays you and you, as a good citizen, pay your fees and declare your taxes. The problem is the middleman, yeah the Payment Gateway, and I'm going to dive into some of them for you guys to know their issues and why, after two years, I decided to move out from one to another.

Here is the list of Payment Gateways I know, and some of them I used.

This is not an advertise! I am not recommending any of those services, I do not receive money from any of them. I am explaining the differences between each one and why did I chose one of them. This section intend to help people avoid bureaucracy and huge fees in global payment services.

I'll now explain all the services in the list, did you like it until now? So keep reading at: https://xnv.io/posts/how-to-receive-a-salary-in-brazil-while-working-for-a-company-abroad

Top comments (0)