DEV Community

Ritchie Einstein
Ritchie Einstein

Posted on

How to Begin Contributions to Open Source Projects?

Hello Everyone. This is my first post. So kindly bear with me. I've programming for so many years. Most of them are mostly concentrated on learning languages and projects just to make professors happy in college. I always dream contributing myself to the open source community. But frankly I don't know where to start.

I have close to an year of experience in developing enterprise application (That's my current full time job). Is that enough to qualify me to begin my contributions?

Would you suggest starting my contributions on fairly new projects or well established ones?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern
  • Everyone wants better docs. That can be a low-barrier way to contribute.
  • Look through the code and find some areas where the code could be cleaned up without altering behavior. Open source projects have messy code too, you know.

Here are some great resources.

I'm really not an authority on this subject, so I'd love to read what others have to say.

Collapse
 
vedantrathore profile image
Vedant Rathore

A good way to start with open source contributions is to correct documentation of the project. If you want to code then opensource.guide/how-to-contribute/ is good resource to start with