DEV Community

roadpilot
roadpilot

Posted on

Finding the host

Replit turns out to be very convenient because you can build your application directly in their web-based editor. You can choose a framework from a whole list of choices. Mine was to use React (and maybe Redux, but we'll get there). Replit will build your entire directory structure, including all the node.js components - which is nice because, if you know node components, you know that they take a LOT of space and they are not friendly about being moved around. It's a real benefit to not have to deal with that! Also, Replit will let you directly interact with Github as a repository. No command line commands required. Just follow the prompts. It's pretty slick. But ... Replit goes to sleep. If you are not using the application frequently enough, then the service goes to sleep and wakes up again when you next call for it. The wake up period can take a few minutes and when you are relying on a pretty quick response, that few minutes can really make a difference. So, I'll continue to use Replit for my algorithm practice but I'm going to have to move to another service to build my application. My next choices are between Netlify and Heroku. At this point, I have no experience with either one of them. So, I'll let you know next week how it went!

Top comments (0)