DEV Community

roadpilot
roadpilot

Posted on

The project begins...

This is how my mind works. Always listening to find a problem that can be solved. I am sitting talking with my wife about how our son overspends on groceries and supplies while living as a college student. She wants to keep him to a monthly limit, help him understand how his choices affect what he'll be able to afford and help him learn how to balance wants and needs. So "BOOM" I'm already building an app in my mind that she can use when she's shopping with him, to keep track of things in his cart and how it is affecting his available balance. It will give them the option to record what the item is and how much it costs. It will provide a running total and usable balance remaining. It will allow multiple additions and allow for deletions. It will be "event" specific so that once the shopping trip is completed, another shopping trip with a new limit can be created - allowing for multiple limits, if desired. I could also have a interval based limit (monthly, weekly, etc.) that could keep a running total across multiple trips. It sounds like I've already planned my model :) Now, my first inclination would be to write it in PHP and host it on my business server, because that's what I've always done. But, my recent education is in React, Redux and other JavaScript front and backend technologies - so I'm going to see what I can do there. My previous projects have been locally served only so getting something up on a host server is going to be my first challenge. I have options with Netlify, Heroku, Replit ... but I'm using Replit for all of my coding challenges (oh, yes - I'm also doing coding challenges) so I think I'm going to give Replit the first shot. We'll see how this goes...

Top comments (0)