DEV Community

Robert Rees
Robert Rees

Posted on

Codespaces - first reactions

I've had beta access to Codespaces now for two weeks or so and I have to say that it's an impressive integration. I was aware that the VS Editor was enabled to improve editing repositories online but the addition of a functioning shell and easy pretty forwarding to local web apps is both easy to use and seamless. There have been many promises of virtual development environments but this is the first time I've felt it could be true.

The integration with the Github repos is great too, meaning you don't have to learn any new commands or patterns of work you can just translate your preferred Git flows.

I haven't got any Github deployment actions so I haven't been see a continuous deployment flow without a local client involved. I'm still a little wary of completely automated deployment for my hobby projects as I don't have great monitoring or release testing for things that are mostly for fun or my own use.

Top comments (0)