DEV Community

rukywe
rukywe

Posted on

To quit or keep trying?

I am struggling.

I have a basic understanding of Java and Javascript.

But when it comes to implementing the knowledge I can't seem to think of how to put it together. I feel like I'm just moving with no direction.

Any tips and advice will help. I have completed loads of courses on udemy/code academy and the likes. But still struggling with building a personal portfolio.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
_gdelgado profile image
Gio

Java and JavaScript are very different languages.

Decide which you want to properly learn. Don't try to learn both at the same time.

Java > high performance back end software
JavaScript > Simple Event Based, single threaded servers (Node) & modern front ends (React)

My recommendation, learn JS first - it's simpler.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

As Gio points out moving in two opposite directions is going to feel like standing still. Drop one language and go. Both can in shape or form do backend or Frontend.

May I suggest just doing JavaScript and learning node because this might help you achieve both Frontend and Backend without to much cognitive load.