DEV Community

ShaunR23
ShaunR23

Posted on

My place in the Tech Ecosystem

Last week we had the pleasure of hearing from Lelia of Build Carolina talk to us about the tech ecosystem in South Carolina. It's hard for me to put a finger on exactly where I fit in at the moment. I feel that I am part of the community with all the people I have had the pleasure of meeting, but I haven't had the chance to contribute much yet. So I'm somewhere between in between coming from a non-traditional certification program and being a professional. Luckily this is the gap that Develop Carolina is built to help close. When I get the chance to contribute to a real world project, that will help build my confidence into being a professional software engineer.

In the future I would like to give back in some way to new talent, especially people who are coming in from a different profession. I have had so many people be generous to me with advice and acceptance. Without those people I would have never had the confidence to make it this far. So being able to give back as a mentor of some sort would be my ideal way of giving back.

Top comments (0)