DEV Community

ShaunR23
ShaunR23

Posted on

Choosing a stack

For our umbrella project we had the choice of what tech stack to use. To begin with I wanted to see what tech stack my host company would be using, but since I still don't have a project that was ruled out. The only other tech stack I have used is React/Django but I wanted to try something different.

When talking with my parter he mentioned the MERN stack(MongoDB, Express, React, Node). It seems to be one of the more popular stacks so it had to be a good choice, plus plenty of online resources on the it. It was a pretty easy choice because I don't know enough to understand why a certain stack is better for a problem than others. So just picking something popular seemed the way to go.

I'm excited to work with a different stack. It will be a fun challenge to understand the difference of working with MERN compared to the previous stack I used. I know some javascript and React, but I have no experience with everything else in the stack. This makes for a fun and interesting time with the umbrella project.

Now that the stack is chosen and everything is hooked up. It's finally time to get to work on it!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jakerich1 profile image
Jake Riches • Edited

After getting to grips with MERN I would recommend having a look T3

The speed at which I can spin up a new project has increased 10x with this stack, I love it!

youtube.com/watch?v=PbjHxIuHduU