DEV Community

ShaunR23
ShaunR23

Posted on

Milestones

So now that we have had our first Umbrella Project demo, milestones is the topic. Looking back at when my journey started I have had a few. A little over a year ago when I finally found a career interest that was worth pursuing. Working on free code camp and seeing my changes happen in real time was when the light bulb went off. Finally having that sense of accomplishment as I progressed, was something I had been missing for so long.

My biggest milestone to date was finishing Code School and presenting my project on Demo Day to the local tech community. There was many times throughout that I wasn't sure if I was going to make it. Constantly working 7 days a week, pretty much all day on assignments was grueling. I couldn't just give up though, I had come too far. It was all worth it in the end when my final project was completed. The accomplishment I felt the first weekend after my presentation was the best feeling ever.

My most recent milestone was being accepted to Develop Carolina. Having a chance to continue to learn more general skills, while also working with a company and getting paid is a great opportunity. It's hard to step back and notice sometimes, but I've already learned so much in my short time in the program. I'm sure I will hit a few more milestones during my time at DC.

It's nice to reflect on the milestones I've had in my short time pursuing this career. I look forward to having many more!

Top comments (0)