DEV Community

Cover image for How do you deal with stress
shriramcs
shriramcs

Posted on

How do you deal with stress

"How do you deal with stress" at work?

This was the question asked to me in a recent interview. I look at them as honestly as possible to introspect myself and answer. I don't shy away from thinking out loud. Interviews are a very beautiful experiences to introspect on yourself about your technical understanding, project development and other soft skills.

Here is how I answered.

We feel stressed when there is a deadline for a delivery. It is with the individual to handle the stress, in my case, I look at it as another time period I should be able to finish my work. I consider it as seriously as possible, yet, I work in my own pace, making a constant progress at the task in hand.
Important things to note in a stressful environment is or in other words, how not to feel stressed is, to focus only on one thing which is of most important and keep other things aside.

A generic work involves complete attention no matter what is the deadline for delivery. we do have daily stand ups and to report the progress, the hurdles on the way for the manager to handle the needle for deadline.

A good manager, sets a practical dead line and allows team to work on their own pace and team members are not supposed to deviate from that. Also, a good manager absorbs the progress and sets internal target for himself to have a clear communication with their higher management.

To refocus on the stress part, I feel it is with individual to look at what is causing the stress in them. A fear of not completing the work, A fear of getting a bug out of their deliveries. We live in the future and that causes stress.

The Best way to handle this is to look at the complexity of the task, try to create milestones and see if you are getting their as expected or else, report it to team about the progress.

I'm sure I spent most of my time explaining this to my interviewer, I enjoyed introspecting myself in a situation about how would I really do it.

Two questions for you.

  1. How do you handle stress at work?
  2. How do you answer if it was asked for you in an interview?

Leave me a comment!

Top comments (0)