DEV Community

Cover image for What is YOUR theme?
LunaaaXO
LunaaaXO

Posted on

What is YOUR theme?

What is YOUR most favorite VSCode theme that everyone should try out? What color theme/syntax highlighting is the most superior to you?

Mine is anything GruvBox Dark related. I'm currently running a theme Gruvbox ish Dark Medium. See link and picture linked underneath!

I'd love to hear y'alls opinions and likes! Screenshot of the gruvbox theme I mentioned earlier

Gruvbox ish by GracefulPotato Thank you GracefulPotato for making the lovely edit on the original gruvbox theme.

Much Love,
Snowciel ❄️

Top comments (66)

Collapse
 
timwjames profile image
TimJ

I find One Dark Pro to be super clean and readable. Haven't gone back since I found it.
One Dark Pro

Collapse
 
kolja profile image
Kolja

Years ago, i used atom. Editor is gone, theme not.

Collapse
 
shampdev profile image
Shamp Dev

I don't know why i am not having same results as you. It is so different for me. I am using Dracula now.

Collapse
 
karans29 profile image
karans29

What font are you using? It looks so aesthetically pleasing and I want it!!

Collapse
 
timwjames profile image
TimJ

Cascaydia Cove Nerd Font: nerdfonts.com/font-downloads

Collapse
 
lhthang96 profile image
Leo

Same here, love it from day one.

Collapse
 
alesbe profile image
alesbe

I used Gruvbox in the past too! But a few weeks ago I discovered Nord theme and I really like it, I use it for my system color palette, but also has VS Code support.

Desktop:
Desktop

VS Code:
VS Code

Collapse
 
lunaaaxo profile image
LunaaaXO

I really like the Nord Theme Color palette, but its just too one-tone for me if you know what I mean. I feel like the colors are all the same to me after a while which will work bad on my concentration. Thank you for taking your time to respond, appreciate it alot.

Much love,
Snowciel ❄️

Collapse
 
dimk00z profile image
Dmitry

I totally agree with you. I tried a lot of themes but "Nord" took my heart.
It has optimal colors for me.

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Not a VS Coder, but figured I'd pop in to show my Emacs themes. I use the modus themes.

A pair of highly accessible themes that conform with the WCAG AAA standard for colour contrast between background and foreground combinations (a minimum contrast of 7:1---the highest standard of its kind).

Modus Operandi Theme with Treesitter Parsing

Modus Vivendi Theme with Treesitter Parsing

The page pictured is the org-mode version of my recent DEV post. (I write in org-mode and export to my blog which I then use DEV's RSS feed import to publish to DEV.)

I even use the color scheme for my blog.

Collapse
 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

lovely! I can't remember of the top of my head , but are the modus themes included with (GNU) emacs?

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Yes. Modus themes are part of (GNU) Emacs. Though I use a package manager to get more recent updates.

Collapse
 
fegroders profile image
Fernando Groders

I use Dracula Theme on everything

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Don't know the name off memory but if you like it, lmk and I'll find out for you

Collapse
 
alexdev006 profile image
alexdev006

Hi, maybe Night Owl ?

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

If you want the overall look:

  1. Get the following extension: material theme by Equinusocio
  2. Set the theme to material theme ocean high contrast for the overall look

If you want the files:

  1. Get the following extension: material theme icons by Equinusocio
  2. Set the theme to material theme icons ocean
Thread Thread
 
alexdev006 profile image
alexdev006

Nice theme indeed ! Thank you ;)

Collapse
 
brojor profile image
brojor

Please, I'm interested in the name..

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

If you want the overall look:

  1. Get the following extension: material theme by Equinusocio
  2. Set the theme to material theme ocean high contrast for the overall look

If you want the files:

  1. Get the following extension: material theme icons by Equinusocio
  2. Set the theme to material theme icons ocean
Collapse
 
ushieru profile image
Ushieru Kokoran

Ona Dark + Jetbrains Mono typeface = ❤️

Collapse
 
t7yang profile image
t7yang

My theme is helpful for developer through color and font style
marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
crowdozer profile image
crowdozer

Monokai. I've used it for so long that anything else feels wrong. 😅

Additionally I use "Carbon Product Icons"for the ui icons, and "Material Icon Theme" for the file icons.

monokai

Collapse
 
karanpratapsingh profile image
Karan Pratap Singh • Edited

I've always loved Material Theme (Dark) with Fira Code font!

example

Collapse
 
brojenuel profile image
Jenuel Oras Ganawed

I have tried many themes for VS Code, but the only thing that stands the most is the One Dark Pro.

with its multi multi color support, its very easy to read codes. After using it, I will always use it till the end.

Collapse
 
halexmorph profile image
Jacob Landry

Solarized (Dark) all the way. I've used it for about 8 years now for everything. I've tried a few others, many of the ones listed here...but over time they either feel too monotone or, the ones with bright and vibrant colors cause too much eye strain. Solarized is perfect for long programming stretches IMO.

Collapse
 
devpenzil profile image
Ajo Alex

I am a dark and neon lover. I used One Dark Pro and Synthwave 84 before, but i am not satisfied. so i created my own theme named witcher.
marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
jairussw profile image
JairusSW • Edited

Been using Rose Pine Moon lately. Not much contrast, but its easy on my eyes
img

Collapse
 
jamesindeed profile image
James

Rose Pine is my favorite. I use it for Hyper Terminal and Windows Terminal as well.

If you want more minimal I would recommend poimandres which is the other one I use if I need a switch from Rose Pine.

Collapse
 
harshitchitkara profile image
Harshit Chitkara • Edited

Though, now i use Neovim over VSCode. My favourite theme for VSCode would definately be Rosé Pine.
marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Theme: Rosé Pine
Font: Victor Mono:
Icon Theme: Material Icon Theme
Product Icon Theme: Fluent Icons

 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

Yeah I looked at that and figured , I learnt a lot about acme .

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more