DEV Community

Sukhpinder Singh
Sukhpinder Singh

Posted on

Export Dev.to to CodeNewbie

I would like to know how we can migrate all the posts from Dev.to to Codenewbie as I have many articles and series which will be beneficial for beginners.

I tried the approach using an RSS feed, but it can migrate 13 posts at a time.

Image description

Your feed URL will be

https://dev.to/feed/ssukhpinder

https://dev.to/feed/{username}

By default the post is in draft state, we need to update the flag published to true to publish the post.

Image description

I would like to the following things

  • How can I migrate all the stories at once?
  • The cover image for the posts isn't migrating. How can I address this?
  • Can I join the existing organization on dev.to from codenewbie?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

@michaeltharrington Any thoughts on the above questions?

Looking forward towards hearing from you..!!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo Sukhpinder!

  1. Hmmmm... I would've thought that the method you used would've worked. I'm honestly not so sure what's going on here... would you mind please writing a bug report on this and describe what you're experiencing? This way the engineering team can look into it, ask you questions if needed, and hopefully solve the problem.

  2. As for cover images not pulling over, I think this is another bug, so if you include this in your bug report, the team will look into it!

  3. To be clear organizations exist separately across Forems, so if you join an org on CodeNewbie, it won't add you to any org on DEV. In other words, you can be of this org on DEV but that doesn't carry over the CodeNewbie.

Hope this info helps!

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Thanks for such a detailed reply, i ll send the bug report by this week

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Thank you for understanding and agreeing to file this report. If you message me with a link to your report, I'll hit the team up on Slack and point them to it to see if it's something we can solve quickly. Apologies that we hit a dead-end here. I really appreciate your patience & help! 🙂

Thread Thread
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Hey, @michaeltharrington I hope you're doing well..!!

Here is the bug report that I submitted (Delayed due to heavy office work)

github.com/forem/forem/issues/20863

Thank you for your help and quick response... Really appreciate it

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woohoo!! Thanks so much for writing this one up, Sukhpinder. I'll point it out to the team!