DEV Community

steevn
steevn

Posted on

New project, what system?

Hi guys,
I'm not exactly sure this is the right place to ask my question. If so, please excuse it.

I would like to renew the website for an old friend (painter). The website is now 4 years old and was created with Contao. The performance, the design and the maintenance of the content is a disaster. The website has 10-15 pages. The most important aspect will be that the images (approx. 60 - 70 images per page, max. 5 pages) are displayed in decent quality. The site should be available in German and English.

So far I only know myself with CMS such as Wordpress, Contao and Typo3. I'm pretty good at HTML and CSS now. JavaScript can get even better. I started the relaunch in Typo3. However, I have read more and more of JAMStack & Co. in recent months.

I would like to try something new, but to be honest, I am overwhelmed by what would be "the" right thing for this website. In the end there are a few pages of text and 5 galleries with 60 - 70 pictures each.

Or does someone know a great picture gallery? Maybe a simple grid as an overview for the "thumbnails" + PhotoSwipe for the large view?

What kind of systems do you use?

thank you
steevn

Top comments (0)