DEV Community

Sushant Kulkarni
Sushant Kulkarni

Posted on

#microfrontends - top down or bottom ups

Maybe, I would like to open this up with a Question.

If you have to implement #microfrontend how would you do it? Top-down or bottom ups? Confused? The very well known and proud #Webpack module federation is more focused on the bottoms-up approach, you are forced(?) to create some set of components and then plug those into a root application, which sounds very obvious. In my honest opinion, this approach is there in any frontend framework and library nowadays, nothing new! Even in the bit.dev it is advised to create your application as a composition of loosely coupled components. But, if I am intended to serve this as a fully functional web application I need a sophisticated way to present these components as a functional and complete application

I would rather prefer an approach that you can loosely correlate with imperative and functional programming. I would prefer to keep my use-cases at the Center (Centre, long live the Queen) to methodologically implement my frontend. The framework should support easy plumbing of my components and needlessly to say deal with the complexity of moving my frontend between the unavoidable transitions of the browser. I may sound like I have made up my mind on a specific framework/library, indeed yes, but I have my own reasons for that and I would like to cover those in subsequent posts. Let's keep it slow and steady to help you digest and create some momentum for this series

Top comments (0)