DEV Community

Tyler Wright
Tyler Wright

Posted on

The Grey

Have you thought about your future? Are you ready to get old? I know I'm not ready to get old! I do want to clarify what I mean by "get old". We all age, every second of every day. That is the human condition. I am not referring to that type of "old". I'm talking about aging out of your career. The day I age out of my career is very far away, but knowing that it will come is why I'm writing this.

Getting old...I'm a developer. I can't remember when I was not writing code. I love having the ability to write a sentence and watch the computer follow my orders. Am I getting old? Yes, I am but that does not mean I am aging out of my career. Instead, I am seeing my career in a new light. I don't have to be the best and pursue delusions of grandeur. I want to be a good developer and a good family member.

Have you ever put your career before your family? It sucks when it happens, but you justify it. I know I've justified having to work late and miss my son's Taekwondo lessons. Was it worth it? I don't think so. Family first. Family is my future!

I don't plan on getting "old", I plan on growing old. "Old", in my career mindset, means falling out of pace with the world. I'm not going to grow like that. How? By trying to be the best developer I can be all while keeping an eye on the future.

I will get old. I will get grey. I will get shorter (though 5'5 is pretty short). I won't stop learning though. I will never stop, no matter what my age is. Carpe Diem!!!

Top comments (0)