DEV Community

Lily
Lily

Posted on

Day 2 Struggles & Victory!

It's almost 11:30 pm as I type this. Today I actually planned to rest and use my Friday night for leisure activities. I had a coaching session and told my coachee that's what I would do. Fortunately or unfortunately, I didn't.

So I did today's Hackerrank challenge. It took longer than I expected and when I finally got it right I felt...kinda dumb but only for the first few minutes. It was on Data Types and basically I had to get user input of different types (int, float & string), sum them to their already declared variable matches and display them on new lines.

It was easy, true. But, your girl didn't read the question well enough so omitted the input part from her solution and kept going at it for almost thirty minutes. I mean it worked for the sample test case but not the hidden one so I was confused. When I figured it out too, I was making very silly mistakes. I was getting a headache... and it's only day two AND I already know the basics of Python. Sigh.

Anyway, I've learnt to always read and understand questions clearly before I tackle a problem. I'll be more conscious of it now because I don't want to go through that again.

There's something good that came out of that though. My mind was more alert and ready to do some work. Fortunately, I could finally install and get a particular version of Angular to work for a project I was doing as part of the Google Africa Developers' Scholarship Program. Mind you this wasn't working for the past three days. Now although previously I had reached module 3, I had to start all over again and frankly, I needed that refresher. I wanted to stop at 4 and sleep but I wasn't ready to take any risks in case the installation wanted to switch up on me again. So I completed it and I'm very very relieved. I guess the leisure day would have to be moved to tomorrow morning :)

So Lily, next time:

  1. Don't procrastinate.
  2. Ask for help (looking through responses from other people's issues don't count please).
  3. Take your time.
  4. Read and understand. If you get it wrong, take a deep breath and go at it again.
  5. Also, try working in WSL more to save yourself stress.
  6. You'll be fine, you won't get overwhelmed. You can do this.
  7. Hold on to your faith, it won't let you down even when you want to give up on yourself especially.

Top comments (0)