DEV Community

Unhexed.dev
Unhexed.dev

Posted on

How does the DEV feed algorithm work?

I cannot understand how the dev algorithm ranks the posts.
I created an article yesterday, but even when I look for it under the tags I specified I cannot find the post.

Here is the post
If I look under #react or #javascript, I cannot find it.

I also haven't even come across my post once on my main feed, while articles which are just 20-30mins old have started to appear.

What's the secret?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
mnrode profile image
mnrode • Edited

dev.to is open source, so you can check yourself.

The blackbox.rb file seems to be the right place to start looking.

There is also a score_calc_job.rb which seems to periodically update the current hotness.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦

Blackbox is exactly, part of the algo is missing so we can never really know the whole story.