DEV Community

user01010011
user01010011

Posted on • Updated on

FS Blog #3: Course Tracker - My Sinatra Project

For my Sinatra project, I'm building Course Tracker, a web application that helps students to manage and track the online courses they are taking. The idea is that the students can use Course Tracker to sign up/create user accounts, log in and log out of their accounts, and can add, edit, and delete the online courses they are taking to their Course Tracker account, including course name, course status, course url, etc. to better manage their online courses and their learning progress.

When users log in to their accounts, they will be able to view all of the online courses that they are tracking at any given time, they then can check each course's status, add new courses, edit or update existing course's name and status, delete courses they are no longer taking, and go to the course websites from their Course Tracker account or course dashboard.

This is a very simple MVP, built using the knowledge I have learned so far from the curriculum on Sinatra and other topics including ActiveRecord, HTML, CSS, etc. Even though it is a very bare-boned app, I still spend many hours building it, fixing environmental/technical issues, and debugging codes. However, I really enjoyed building it, and it was exciting because it is my first fully-functional web app, and it feels like I was tying together "frontend" and "backend" together for the first time, especially after the first CLI Data Gem project. This is only my second coding project, and there are so many features and improvements I would have liked to have (especially the styling and CSS!), but for now, this is a good start as a basic MVP project. :)

https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1529465230221-a0d10e46fcbb?ixlib=rb-1.2.1&q=85&fm=jpg&crop=entropy&cs=srgb

Photo Credit: David Rangel, Unsplash

For the project, I used Sinatra, ActiveRecord, Ruby & HTML, Pry, Corneal, and other Ruby Gems.

Top comments (0)