DEV Community

Michael Bierschneider
Michael Bierschneider

Posted on

Portfolio App for Hackathon

Hello everyone!

First: Happy New Year!

Next, this is my first post on dev.to ever. I want to talk about the app I created for the DO hackathon. It is at the same time also my first time using NextJS and DigitalOcean. So there was a lot overhead with very few time... So it is not much in the end.
Anyway, I want to say thank you for the hackathon. I must say that I learned a lot and found a new interest in NextJS.

What I built:
I built a personal portfolio website with NextJS.

Category Submission:
Portfolio

App Link:
https://portfolio-r6j3l.ondigitalocean.app/

Description:
A very simple portfolio website that has 3 pages which are About, Expertise and Projects. I also added a few possiblities for contacting.

Permissive License:
MIT License

Background:
I never created a portfolio site and it sounded tempting to try it out. I checked a few sites for inspiration but i cant say that it helped.

How I built it:
I used DO Apps to deploy the NextJS app. I was pretty impressed by the easy web interface compared to AWS. This was my first time playing around with NextJS and it felt quite overwhelming. Although i think that i learned a few things like Routing and Pages in the short time that i had for the project. Wish i could have started earlier for a better outcome. Next (:P) time i guess...

Have a nice Day!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

This is great! Well done and good luck with the Hackathon! 🙌