DEV Community

Cover image for I made a 'new tab' browser extension/theme
Virej Dasani
Virej Dasani

Posted on • Updated on

I made a 'new tab' browser extension/theme

Luminous New TabDownloadsRatingVersion

is a beautiful and open-source new tab browser extension that has an animated gradient background. New tabs will show the time, weather and let you do Google searches too!

Luminous New Tab is available for Google Chrome and Firefox

I made Luminous New Tab because of the lack of minimal, ad-free New Tab extensions. I feel it gives a nice vibe to the browser and is quite useful.
Let me know what you think about Luminous New Tab
You can request features and report bug here
And if you decide to get it for your browser, a review, and a star to the repo on GitHub thanks!

Links

Download for Chrome or Firefox

Luminous New Tab on GitHub

Follow me on Dev

Check out some of my other projects and follow me on my socials from my website here

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
thefluxapex profile image
Ian Pride • Edited

Very nice and I'd love to use it, but could you add alternate search engines? I don't see any settings for the extension. I use DuckDuckGo mainly, but will use almost anything else as long as it's not Google. If not, I might look into forking and doing it myself, but I am pretty busy with other projects and life at the moment. And also if you could add the choice to select Fahrenheit as the temperature I'd appreciate it..

Appreciate it though, very cool.

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks for the feedback! I am working on the settings option and having different search engines but I don't think it will be done any time soon because my exams are coming up. However, if you can find the time, I'd be more than happy to merge your pull request and even if you don't, there should be an update coming out in a couple of months πŸ‘

Collapse
 
therickedge profile image
Rithik Samanthula

Awesome Man, keep on going!!

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks man!

Collapse
 
yoursunny profile image
Junxiao Shi

New Tab is the new FOLDER.HTT .
FOLDER.HTT is a Windows 98 feature that allows you to customize any file folder to show a webpage when opened.

Here's what I did, circa 2002 (screenshot taken in 2011).
It has a dynamic clock, music, and links to various folders.
There's no weather because back then we find out weather by looking at the sky.
There's no Google search because back then we search information in encyclopedia CD-ROM.

Collapse
 
artisanasad_08 profile image
Asad

Thats really cool!!

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks, a review on the store would mean a lot!

Collapse
 
artisanasad_08 profile image
Asad

sure thing πŸ˜‰

Thread Thread
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks a lot!

Collapse
 
yashraj_dudhe profile image
𝕐𝕒𝕀𝕙𝕣𝕒𝕛 𝔻𝕦𝕕𝕙𝕖

Loved it bruh πŸ‘Œ
The buttons below the search bar I think no need/ u can add open incognito there it's useful
And let users add a quote/saying sorry if I am demanding lot πŸ˜…
At last loved simplicity

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani • Edited

Thanks a lot for the suggestions!
Also might I suggest, because this is an Open Source project, you can also add these features by contributing them to the GitHub repo here!

Collapse
 
yashraj_dudhe profile image
𝕐𝕒𝕀𝕙𝕣𝕒𝕛 𝔻𝕦𝕕𝕙𝕖

mee nub sur

Thread Thread
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Oh, no problem. I'll try and implement those features in the next update!
Also, I would really appreciate a review or a rating on the extension. Thanks in advance πŸ‘

Collapse
 
ceoshikhar profile image
Shikhar

Hey! I remember you. Nice work ✌️

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks a lot man!

Collapse
 
link33 profile image
Esrom Amanuel

I hope it comes to the edge web store

Collapse
 
cristoferk profile image
CristoferK

Nice!

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks! If you can, I would really appreciate a review on the browser store.

Collapse
 
seanolad profile image
Sean

Nice work !!! πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
virejdasani profile image
Virej Dasani

Thanks a lot!

Collapse
 
pracoon profile image
Prasham Ashesh

I'd be interested to know how you built it, maybe a step by step article with learning resources? 🀷