DEV Community

Cover image for What Did you Learn this week --March 20?
Waylon Walker
Waylon Walker

Posted on

What Did you Learn this week --March 20?

What Did you Learn this week --March 20?

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
kailyons profile image
Loralighte

I re-learned my love for TypeScript, learned some more Fortran (still at the basics as I am working on prototyping ideas in Python). I learned a lot on how to translate custom code into a different language,

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

That is super cool. I have dabbled a time or two in integrating a lower level language into a python package. I just have never had a use case to go much further. I think that would be an amazing skill to have!

have you tried cython, or any of the other python "compilers"?

Collapse
 
kailyons profile image
Loralighte

Yeah, I have. They work fine however in my opinion they feel slow.

Collapse
 
lquenti profile image
Lars Quentin

Just out of curiosity, 2 Questions:

  1. Why do you learn Fortran? I'd guess that there are no significant performance advantages to modern C++ oder even just C

  2. Are you a physicist?

Collapse
 
kailyons profile image
Loralighte
  1. I really like the syntax, especially compared to C and C++

  2. Nope

Collapse
 
jasmin profile image
Jasmin Virdi

I have started learning react hooks by doing a mini-project. Apart from this, I have learned about the parcel and font ligatures. I have set up Fira Code in my Visual Studio Code. It is amazing 😄

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I still need to really learn hooks! I have done some silly buttons, but any time I need to do something real and just need to get it done I have to do it with classes.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Kicking it off myself. I learned how to gzip a full JAMStack (gatsby) website into a python cli and load user data through fetch requests. The full package on pypi is uner 500kb compared to many python libraries that creep in over 10mb It seems to work really well.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I also dug super deep into learning bash functions and control flow in bash.

Collapse
 
krishnakakade profile image
krishna kakade

I learn react basics and completed only reactjs section in freecodecamp what about you?

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

React is so powerful. It has reached a point where there are so many things that you can npm install a widget and have a really amazing that that wouldnt have been half as good had you done it yourself.
It's likely a community of folks have invested weeks/months into that component and made it something really great.

Are you learning all hooks, or class based components?

Collapse
 
andrzejchmura profile image
Andrzej Chmura

Finally had an opportunity to grasp Next.js. Great piece of technology, especially now with improved static export APIs.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I should check Next out as well! I end up using gatsby for everything. Even very dynamic sites, I just pull data with axios rather than through gatsby. Just sticking to what I know for now.

Collapse
 
lehmannsystems profile image
Mike

I'm learning how to integrate Pusher into my web apps. I'll be writing a post about how I did it and my findings!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Pusher looks quite interesting. Looks like it makes socket connections really easy.

Collapse
 
okolilemuel profile image
Lemuel Okoli

I have been learning Kotlin for a while now.

Collapse
 
sravanthivelidandla profile image
sravanthivelidandla

I started learning react.js. Understood React hooks at a basic level.Working on some samples. Let me know if anyone has further guidance on what can be picked up next

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Big step forward!!! Just build stuff you will figure out what you need to learn next! Maybe you already know enough react to get started and what you really need to learn is an API/database component to the things that you want to build.

Make sure you can make components reusable. Play around with different patterns so that you are familiar with them as you are building things.

Collapse
 
iamkalai profile image
Kalaiarasan Pushpanathan

That local variable takes precedence over global.

var variable = 'global';
function testFunction() {
var variable = 'local';
console.log(variable);
}
testFunction();
console.log(variable);

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

The power of scoping. I saw this and had to try it out with const. You can redefine const inside of a function as well.

Collapse
 
moha1234566044 profile image
Mohamed Hassan

learned some advanced sql stuff :)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

That is awesome. Every time I learn some new SQL that I can implement there is a query that used to take minutes, now is seconds. Most of the time it just means moving some work from python to SQL to be done in the database.