DEV Community

Cover image for I need your help
WIWI
WIWI

Posted on

I need your help

I am in my last year of IT engineering studies , currently doing a web dev internship to conclude my studies .The least I could say is that I feel like I'm lost , I don't know where to start and what I should do next , if anyone has steps I should follow up to form a good understanding as a beginner in dev who knows little to nothing so that I can at least be able to make a small web app .Any advice would make a huge difference , thank you .

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
leonardsangoroh profile image
Leonard Sangoroh

Hello @wiwi , I also felt this way some time back. There are many ways to kill a rat but I will share my experience. To begin with, I decided to choose one path and at least master its fundamentals. I chose iOS development and went all-in. Six months into my journey, I was still looking for the 'right course' to learn from then one day I realised something...there is no 'good' or 'bad' course, they are just different courses that suit different people. Afterwards I got to learn using the 100 days of Swift course and building personal projects on the side too. It has been a year now and all I can say is that I am not where I want to be but at least I am not where I was a year ago. As we speak, I am an iOS developer Intern. This is just my story, yours might be different and even smoother or better!

So, pick a niche in software engineering or your preferred field and pursue it consistently for at least 6 months. I will be there to see the progress you will have made and the better developer you will have become!