DEV Community

yluo3421
yluo3421

Posted on

Starting project about Path Finding

Game is one of my hobbies and I always wonder why do they have so many ideas that can lead people to keep playing and enjoying the game. I have seen vlog about making their own game using model but currently all I had is React and rails, so I decided to start by path-finding. It is the root to whatever games that needs a map.
I looked up online and found lots of people already had decent projects about path-finding, this is good because I have a lot of references to use. After watching several videos and reading some articles, I found the best topic to work on, path-finding algorithm visualization. To me algorithm itself is not that interesting, but understanding what problems can it solve really helps me get to know algorithm. Among all the method of understanding a algorithm, I found visualization the most direct and fitting all age-groups. The only drawback of this project is it is front-end heavy and I do need to fulfill the requirement for backend.
The ultimate goal is to do similar thing as Clément Mihailescu, his website and path-finding algorithm looks amazing. After watching his video of re-doing the website, I found it really hard. The amount of code needs to be done is massive and I only have limited time. The decision is still finishing the similar website as Clément's but simplify by not implementing partial features by myself. I will focus on implementing path-finding algorithm and visualization. But the first step is initialize the board and nodes.

Top comments (0)