DEV Community

Youmnaelzany
Youmnaelzany

Posted on

A lost beginner

Hi everyone

I'm curranty learning front-end but it takes so long for me 'cause I try to learn everything, everyone says that I can search google for anything but I just feel FOMO and I don't want to miss anything, and I'm overwhelmed with all of the recourses out there, so what shall I do? and focus on what while I'm learning? and Thank you 😊

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
juniorerivaldo profile image
Erivaldo Junior

hello, I think everyone at first is like this. After 1 year as a junior developer I can say that now I can focus only on what I need to evolve.
The tip I give you is to choose 1 item, research and study about it, and practice a lot until you can do something without having to resort to many tutorials or google. So yes you can start on another item.

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

thank you for your time to replay

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

If I can add to this, try to make something like an index.html with some plain css and go from there. Learn the basics first and do fancy things later.

You can try to fly a plane but I would start by going on a bike to the plain first :)

Collapse
 
gdenn profile image
Dennis Groß (he/him)

Just focus on building small projects instead of searching the internet for arbitrary technologies.

Pick one modern JavaScript framework like React, VueJS or AngularJS and get a portfolio together.

You learn 100x more if you build things, that's what engineering is about.

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

Thank you

Collapse
 
urwissen profile image
Lars

Focus on your journey. Create a coding journal using Notion or Coda to write down what you want to accomplish. Mark easy tasks, tasks to repeat, or difficult things (emojis or something). Don't get lost in tutorial hell, choose your favorite learning platform or path and stick with it. If you need more information on a topic, try to use official documentation or short how-to videos. Don't rush through topics, review them!

It helps you reflect on yourself when you go back in your journal to see what you've accomplished, where you got stuck, and how you're dealing with it now.

Programming is hard. Be happy with what you know and don't get lost in what you don't know.

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

Thank you so much

Collapse
 
munnakr profile image
munna kumar gupta

Hi Dear , I relate your situation that what you are facing in learning front-end but don't worry i have a very easy solution visit on (codewithharry.com) or search on YouTube- Code With Harry Web Development course your all-doubts will clear.
Thank you.

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

Thank you, I'll do it

Collapse
 
youdontknowwho profile image
You Don't Know Who

It's completely normal to feel overwhelmed when learning front-end development, especially with so many resources available and the constantly evolving nature of the field. Here are a few tips to help you stay focused and avoid feeling overwhelmed:

  • Set specific learning goals.
  • Prioritize learning the fundamentals.
  • Take breaks and practice what you have learned.
  • Consider finding a mentor.
Collapse
 
austinbagwell profile image
Austin

I really like this Frontend Roadmap - understanding the fundamentals first is important to me, and that gives a pretty comprehensive list of those.

My personal opinion is that at first, it's good to focus on one tutorial at a time. I started with freeCodeCamp's responsive web design course.

That being said, once you get the basics under your belt, I think the absolute best way to find focus is to build your own projects. You'll run into problems, and the process of finding solutions to those problems is waaay more engaging than following along with a tutorial. That's what works for me, anyhow!

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

Thank you

Collapse
 
orix profile image
Waleedh Nihal

Try to control and limit urself to only these specific apps and topics

Collapse
 
youmnaelzany profile image
Youmnaelzany

Thank you

Collapse
 
orix profile image
Waleedh Nihal

Welcome 😊!

Collapse
 
isiakaabd profile image
ISIAKA ABDULAHI AKINKUNMI

Try to be more practical with anything you are learning or create a small project around it, that will help you learn better and effective

Collapse
 
hadeelsharaf profile image
Hadeel Sharaf

Hi,

Don't worry about the new things. Start by building strong base of Javascript then any framework will be easier to learn.