DEV Community

Cover image for Block Pull Requests that make tests slower
Neyts Zupan
Neyts Zupan

Posted on

Block Pull Requests that make tests slower

As a developer, I was constantly frustrated by the fact that our unit tests seemed to get slower and slower over time. It was a never-ending cycle: I'd make them faster, only to discover a month later they are slow again. It was a real drain on my productivity, and I knew there had to be a better way.

That's when I came up with the idea for BlueRacer. I wanted to create a tool that would help developers like me keep their unit tests fast and efficient, without all the hassle of constantly hunting down slow tests.

With BlueRacer, it's easy to block the merging of Pull Requests that make your tests slower. Simply install https://github.com/apps/blueracer-io on your repo, configure your test runner to output the "junit.xml" report file, and upload this file to BlueRacer.io with a single command. From then on, BlueRacer will automatically post a warning on any Pull Request that would cause your tests to run slower, giving you the opportunity to fix the slowdown before the merge.

I'm thrilled with the results I've seen since using BlueRacer. Our unit tests are running faster than ever, and I'm able to focus on my work rather than constantly worrying about other people's Pull Requests slowing me down. If you're tired of dealing with slow unit tests, I highly recommend giving BlueRacer a try at https://github.com/apps/blueracer-io.

Let me know what you think!

Top comments (0)