DEV Community

5AbhishekSaxena
5AbhishekSaxena

Posted on

Did you stop contributing after making 4 Pull Requests?

Who am I?

Just like you, I am a developer who is trying to write decent code and wants to do something great one day. Hi, and my name is Abhishek Saxena, I am a native android developer who is slowing shifting towards enterprise full-stack java development. I try to share my knowledge via Youtube, Instagram, and in discord communities.

Why was this Hacktoberfest so special for me?

This Hacktoberfest was different unlike the one in 2018 when I was very new to git and programming in general.

So, you may ask how was it different? The obvious answer would be I was more experienced this time, but there's more to it.

This year, I joined a small discord community. I mentored the fellow developers, guided them, taught them the basics of git, and how to make their first pull request.

Not only that, I even conducted a small event wherein I asked them to pick any project of their choice from each other's GitHub and asked them to review it, find improvements or give feedback.

With this, not only they inculcated a new skill of reviewing other's code but also to give constructive feedback based on their understanding. Some of them even went a step ahead and made PRs.

Overall it was an amazing experience for me as a mentor and also special as I was able to share my knowledge and give back to the community.

I'd like to end by saying,
"If you know something, share it, maybe you'll be part of their success story"

"A hero can be anyone, even a man doing something as simple and reassuring as putting a coat on a young boy's shoulders to let him know that the world hadn't ended."
~ Batman

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
storytellercz profile image
Jan Dvorak

I also started wit Hacktoberfest in 2018. Back then I was a small FOSS contributor (active in the Meteor community, but not so much in code contributions). Forward to this year and my role in community has increased. I have organized a virtual conference for the community that was last week and somehow still managed to get 15 PRs in. Granted, with one exception, it isn't anything major, but given how strapped for time I'm pretty pleased with the result so far.