DEV Community

Albert Aleman
Albert Aleman

Posted on

My Bootcamp Journey So Far...

It's been a minute since I've had some time to update my journey, but today I felt the need to. I started my full-stack web dev journey in early September and it has been a journey. A journey of ups and downs. A journey of late nights, long hours of busting my head, long hours of searching the docs, and so on. It has all been worth it. I can't state enough it has been totally worth it.

What I have learned

I'm excited to mention that I have learned and continue to learn html/css/javascript, and various frameworks to make applications more dynamic. In the past two months, I've learned how to use node.js, express, SQL, NoSQL, MongoDB, Mongo/Mongoose, and MySQL design tools. I've learned how to use API extensions such as Insomnia and ThunderClient.

I have to admit that I haven't fully mastered or completely learned the above skills. However, I desire to grow in my understanding and ability to incorporate those skills. I am thankful for my instructor who, from time to time makes mistakes or has to go to the docs herself to figure something out. It really encourages me to continue learning and not give up.

Currently Learning

Currently, I am learning how to use REACT. I must say, it is difficult and at times overwhelming. So far we have used REACT for front-end application projects and it is amazing. Soon, I will be learning how to use REACT for back-end application projects and how to connect front-end and back-end in an application. It's going to be a challenge, however, I look forward to it.

Reflection

As the end of my bootcamp nears I look back and remember that learning never stops. I will always be "currently learning". Imposter Syndrom is a real thing and have faced it from time to time in these past two months. My instructor shared this article with me and I will forward that article to you all as well. I'm sure many of you have read it and that is awesome. The article was written by Dan Abramov who coauthored REACT and mentions all the things he doesn't know as of 2018. Pretty sure there is an updated version. Reading the article reaffirmed my understanding that we are always learning and that it's okay not to know everything or something within this amazing DEV community.
Article: Things I Don't Know as of 2018

--Albert Aleman

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
elmfer profile image
Fernando Valle

Hey Albert! I am so glad to see that you are persisting through your bootcamp journey! There is sure is a lot of material to learn, yet you still put in the hard work and did not give up. Cheers!