DEV Community

Abhilash Kumar Bhattaram for Nabhaas Cloud Consulting

Posted on • Updated on

OCI - Monitoring Tables for Oracle Golden Gate Service ( works for On Prem Golden Gate as well )

{ Abhilash Kumar Bhattaram : Follow on LinkedIn }

For a Oracle Golden Gate Engineers Admins , I see bit too focussed on the internals of Extracts and Replicats, it's good to work with Sys Admins and MOS to tune it better.

But for many of my business use cases people are just interested in a handfull of tables on how they are replicating ,
i.e. I get to handle questions below

  • Are my data in partitions being replicated ?
  • I did a large insert do you see it ?
  • A had to archive large data set to anorther table , did that complete ?

These questions are more important to them , I cannot go about answering internals of Golden Gate to people who are not interested in them.

Explaining the End users of apps like BI , Tableau , they have no understanding of the replications and rightly so , all they need to know is " DO I HAVE MY DATA " ?

To help my users I have come up with a small script , basically the least looked upon sys table called "dba_tab_modifications"

Top comments (0)