DEV Community

Abraham Asukwo
Abraham Asukwo

Posted on

HNG EXPERIENCE

My beginner experience and Goal For HNGi8.

I am Abraham Sylvester Asukwo from Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.
I am a frontend developer and an intern in HNGi8.

I joined the HNG internship last year as recommended by my mentor.
I was elated, it was the first two months of learning web development.
On getting to my slack workspace things moved so fast, I haven't had such an experience, I was overwhelmed by tens and thousands of messages from the different channels and tried connecting with a few people but couldn't get past stage one.

But someone may ask, WHAT IS HNG?
HNG Internship 8 is Operated by Zuri.
HNG Internship is a long-running, large-scale virtual internship for people learning to code and design.
The Internship is designed to surface the very best of candidates out of a large pool of participants. It is fast-paced and challenging and helps people learn how to work in teams, deal with pressure and quickly expand their knowledge.

The Internship itself focuses on participants with prior experience either by going through the training phase, or self-learning.
As seen on;
Zuri Internship

This year I am ready to blend in, Yeah.!
I want to go as far as my eyes can see, going all the way to the final stage.

My Goals;
Make it as a finalist,
Unlike last year when everything looked overwhelming, with the support from the mentors (this year's mentors reply as fast as possible), I am personally determined to go all the way from the first stage to the finals.

Improve my frontend development skills,
A close look at the previous interns/finalists has shown a great improvement in their skills be it in frontend, backend, and UI/UX design, every stage is structured to improve one's ability. I want to be more refined and experienced at the end of this internship.

Connect with amazing developers and make new friends,
One of the major challenges I had last year was the inability to make friends quickly and ask questions. I am more open-minded this year and ready to build sustainable friendships.

Ready to work and take up different projects in my stack.

Finally, I want to have as much fun as possible while learning and building remotely, become a proficient frontend developer that is confident and well equipped with the right skill sets to work with reams, and manage pressure well.

You can check out the ZURI TEAM Or Zuri Training or to know more about the internship and also start your journey in software development.

Here are some tutorials for every beginner,

Introduction to Figma
https://webdesign.tutsplus.com/courses/introduction-to-figma

Introduction to Git
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.freecodecamp.org/news/what-is-git-and-how-to-use-it-c341b049ae61/amp/

Introduction to Javascript
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Learn/Getting_started_with_the_web/JavaScript_basics

Introduction to HTML
https://www.w3schools.com/html/html_intro.asp

Top comments (0)