DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on

Office in the garden for no money?

So, I think I'm at home now for the long run, in an effort to rekindle the commuting spirit, I have a long garden which I really want to put an office at the end of, a shed will do, around 8' X 10'

To make the saving for such a thing, circa Β£3000 worth a little easier, I need to either find a way to recycle a lot of stuff or make a passive income.

Could any of these be realistic?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

First, I think I've found a bug in your garden: Β£3000 != 0.

Secondly, assuming this is going to be in the UK, you're going to need proper insulation, heating, etc. A shed won't do, unless you mean a very posh shed indeed!

You'll need to run mains cable and if you use electric heating it'll get expensive and maybe exceed 13A depending on how much computing and lighting and stuff goes on.
If you want to stay warm in winter and make a cup of tea at the same time you might blow a fuse if you cheap out there.

Something that might be cool - if unlikely - is if your neighbours fancy doing the same thing, you could make a little shared patio thing.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

You're not wrong, let's break it down. πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

You'll need to run mains cable and if you use electric heating it'll get expensive and maybe exceed 13A depending on how much computing and lighting and stuff goes on.

Beyond extending the existing wiring from my shed to run a little further down to the new construction, and having insulated it, I had thought only briefly about how to stay warm. But nevertheless electric heating will be cheeper than gas is going to be 😱. Maybe some windmil or solar power could help take the edge off?

I can see what you mean thought, if I am treating this like a big extension lead, a kettle is already part of the way, then there's my MacBook charger, and a 19v trainset.

Looks like I have some logistical things to work out.

Lastly, the bug, yes it's annoying and hard to solve, how to live a privileged lifestyle when your paying for your first year in your first house. I think I will have to wait for ... Someday 🌈

It's likely to be a very posh shed, or summerhouse because that's all I could think of πŸ€”