DEV Community

Cover image for What good can you do for $3000?
Bogomil Shopov - Бого
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Posted on • Updated on

What good can you do for $3000?

If you have a donation/stipend of $500/ a month for 6 months what good can you do in your local community with your skills?

This is a serious question that most probably will end up in me supporting you with the mentioned amount.

If you are tired to use your time into answering silly questions like "what is your goal" for the week and want to do actually something, share some proposals.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

With $3000, I can almost buy my local community one Apple Vision Pro. Give me one more month of $500 and I'll make it happen... might 2 more months to account for taxes. 😝

Haha, kidding.

So, in all seriousness. If I had $3000 to spend on my local community, I would like to do something with nature in my area. For instance, we have a lot of nature trails and I think it would be cool to create some sort of a fun program to get people out there to visit them. I'm not so sure what it would be just yet, but I feel like something similar to geocaching could be cool... maybe AR could be involved. I don't know I might be getting outside of the $3000 range, haha.

Maybe just a website to log all of the local trails, place them on a map, show their lengths, how strenuous they are, etc.

I also think it could be cool to go out to each trail and film the walk with a drone and/or Insta360. This way folks could preview what a walk there is like.

EDIT: Just to note, I totally didn't realize this was a we_coded post at first and so didn't formulate my answer with gender equality in mind. Now that I realize, I think using the money to fund a scholarship for women in tech would be cool. I'd need to partner with someone or some org who knows how to best do this, but it seems like a good simple, straightforward thing that could make a positive difference.

Alternatively, it could be cool to set up some sort of an after-school program for girls to learn about programming with raspberry pis — get them started with a fun project. Maybe it could even end with a challenge aspect that includes a prize, that way it would encourage more girls to get involved and reward those who excel.

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Hi @bogomil! :) Thank you for posting. I'm struggling to see your topic’s connection to the #wecoded since it is used for women and gender minorities to talk about their experiences in the tech industry. Can you put some content in your post about this?

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I agree with Christine here in that I feel like this could just be made a bit more clear in the post itself!

The topic is on using money for good, which is cool and allows the potential for someone to mention using $3k to fund a program or idea that has to do with gender equity, but the post itself doesn't really mention anything about gender equity.

To be honest, I didn't even see the #wecoded tag when I left my answer. I seriously didn't realize this post was connected to we_coded at the time. Had I realized, I think I would've answered differently!

Would you be up for making that connection more clear within your post @bogomil? It's a cool idea, I just think it could use a bit of tweaking to more clearly connect it to we_coded.

Collapse
 
darthvader profile image
Darth Vader

What good can you do with $3000 dollars to fix a problem in the area?

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Create more paid internship opportunities with low-barrier entry

Collapse
 
geekcyclist profile image
Gary Ray

Three years ago a friend called me on a Saturday. He had a few kids bikes that he wanted to give to a refugee family he knew, but they needed more work than he knew how to do, and more mechanic skill than he had. In addition to being a software engineer and manager, I've fixed bicycles since I was a teen 4 decades ago.

Several weekends wrenching turned into us forming a non-profit we run on a shoestring. A local lawyer provides us helmets at cost, which is where most of our cash donations go. We get a lot of bikes donated that are beyond repair we strip for parts.

So, what would we do with $3,000? Buy tires and put smiles on faces. You see, the one thing almost all of our bikes have in common is the tires and tubes are shot. I currently have 18 bikes in my garage that need tires. Every time we deliver bikes, the kids swarm us to fix flats. True, we might use a little to spin up a website, but that kind of money lets me and other volunteers fix around 100 bicycles and delight kids (and sometimes adults if we get larger bikes donated).

Collapse
 
darthvader profile image
Darth Vader • Edited

I will comment just to see some traction! Is it open for anyone?

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Yes, if the amount is enough to make you do something. I realize in some parts of the world this could be "coffee money".