DEV Community

Cover image for 2020 was a rocky start
Mohammed Ali
Mohammed Ali

Posted on

2020 was a rocky start

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and I’m kind of hesitant to write about my journey , maybe because I’m a beginner who just joined a community full of experts and seniors , but I decided to go with writing this because as I said before, I wanna talk about my weird journey.
.
I was a IT college student back in 2019 , but I didn’t too much work into learning about programming and web development like you would expect, I was just doing home works and delivering assignments like a dead robot, no passion, no nothing.
.
Until….
I stumbled across this youtuber named “Brad Traversy” when I just randomly typed in “Web Development” , and his video of web developer map made me curious about this “map”

Neither to say , I felt like a bomb went off inside me, like I wanted to become a web wizard and create cool stuff like Brad, that’s when I decided to walk through this map.
.
But the motivation and excitement aren’t enough to become a wizard, I needed resolve and patience and lots and lots of practice, I started with HTML,CSS then chose JavaScript as a programming language , keep in mind , as an IT student , I actually learned a lot about C++, C# and Java , with some data structures and algorithms but like I said, I felt like a robot while writing code and running it.
.
Through 2020, it was like climbing a mountain, sometimes I reach a new height , and sometimes I sit for months doing nothing but watching tutorials or reading through Medium and Dev to.
.
As a beginner , there were times that I felt dumb or this is not where my talents are , turns out, I wasn’t the only one struggling in this field, and they made posts on reddit talking about being overwhelmed or feeling like a fraud compared to all these masters and wizards on YouTube or Codepen, but the amazing thing is that the replies were full of stories and encouragement that made me realize that I lack patience and stubbornness to continue this roadmap.
.
In the end, this is just a post of my thoughts about the previous year and I hope in 2021 I will be able to beat this map and become better than the years before :)

Top comments (0)