DEV Community

Cover image for My first experience in a Tech group for girls
Juliana Teixeira
Juliana Teixeira

Posted on

My first experience in a Tech group for girls

There are a lot of complications when you decide to change all your professional choices, specially if you are a woman and if you want to enter the Tech industry, an area dominated by men. Yeah, I'm living this now, and last Saturday I had my first experince in a Tech group for girls. Did I enjoy it?

Of course!

Since last year, I'm involved in HTML/CSS studies: I bought some online courses and started studying all by myself. And God, it's hard! I can't count how many times I wanted to give up: "Tech is not for me", "I can't do it", "There are so many people doing this better than me" "I will never be hired". Drama? Pessimism? Insecurity? Call it what you want.

So, I discovered the {Reprograma} project and I changed my mind again. But now in a good way.

{Reprograma} is a social project that wants to reduce the gender gap in the Technology sector through education. The project offers free online and offline courses for women like me, who are changing their professional lives and starting from scratch in Technology. So, on March 28th I participated in a HTML/CSS workshop with 30 other girls. The most surprising part: more than two thousand people applied, and I was one of the selected ones!

The workshop gave me some front-end knowledge, of course, but mainly a great feeling and I though: "Oh man, I'm not the only one in this crazy journey". It meant a lot to me, and I even don't know exactly how or why. I only know that now I'm more confident. And I like to feel this way. Let me enjoy hehehe

Top comments (0)