DEV Community

AK
AK

Posted on

Hacking Myself

What I built

I have built a small handy web app for basic data exploration. It can accept either a url or a file(.csv/.xlsx/.json/.df) and provide basic data insights. As title suggest, I had a chance to hack myself to the fullest and explore my new limits because I have to built it in really short time (1 day - read about dohackathon on 9th Jan :D).

Category Submission:

  • Program for the People

App Link

https://dataexplorer-webapp-pv6l3.ondigitalocean.app/

Screenshots

Main Screen

Showing raw data and heatmap

Displaying Pairplots

Columnwise Insights and WordClouds

Description

First Step: Provide a url / Upload a file

Second Step: Step back and relax

You will see a Heat Map representing correlation between numeric columns followed by bunch of pair plots.

Related to column-level insights, in next section, you will have to choose columns to view the min/max/count/freq properties.

Next, to view insights from non-numeric columns, WordCloud is the good way to see the most frequent words. Here you will have to select non-numeric columns to form wordclouds for each columns.

Link to Source Code

https://github.com/akashdve/dataexplorer_webapp

Permissive License

BSD-3

Background

(What made you decide to build this particular app? What inspired you?)
I would love to share that I came to know about this hackathon a day before the deadline and I really wanted to take part. As soon as I decided, a wide-stream of ideas was rushing into my mind making it more harder to choose. Choosing the simple way, finally, I opted to make a simple web app which can reduce some coding effort of mine as well as others.

I always find datasets very fascinating and I try to pull out some insights from it. But here's the problem I face is I always needed to write similar code for every new jupyter notebook.

Why to write the same code for calculating mean/sum/count/min/max etc. for every datasets ?
I thought of having a simple, basic and quicker way to do this job. I didn't have much time to implement every feature and functionality as I have developed this app overnight but suggestions are welcome.

How I built it

(How did you utilize DigitalOcean’s App Platform? Did you learn something new along the way? Pick up a new skill?)
I learned to deploy my code without having to worry about the DevOps and other server related configurations. Also, I find the DigitalOcean App platform is a faster way to deploy and prototype your code.

Additional Resources/Info

Top comments (0)